Keep In Touch
Click to Home

Go To Search
Common Council
White Plains CC
The City of White Plains is governed by a Common Council which consists of the mayor and six council members. The seven-member Common Council is the city’s legislative body. The Council's responsibilities include:
  • Adopting a budget
  • Appropriating monies    
  • Enacting laws
  • Granting franchises
  • Selling or leasing properties
  • Approving appointments to key administrative posts made by the mayor.
    Council members are elected at large and serve 4-year terms.